Thoughts about Jesus’ Anger.

Hello again! In my post today I will be sharing my thoughts on Jesus’ anger, particularly the anger displayed in the verses below:

John 2:13-18
Matthew 21:12-13

These verses observe the same scenario. I’ve always wondered about these verses because the bible seems to be quite clear: be slow to anger. Why then did Jesus become angry? Why did he act out on His anger and shoo away the animals? If we are supposed to reflect Jesus’ attitude and behaviours, why is He allowed to be angry yet we are asked to refrain? To make it clear, I am not saying that we should not rebuke our fellow brothers and sisters. We are to do so, and we are to do so without anger. We are supposed to do so with love, patience and kindness. Of course with a little sternness following it as well. But we are supposed to refrain from anger. Why? Even though it was very clear that Jesus was angry, why are we to refrain from it?

Of course, as a human being whom is “infected” by the poison of sin, it is hard to never be angry. I’m not saying that we should never be angry, that’s somewhat… impossible. Of course, when we are angry, we should do our best to handle it well. This however, is not what I’m touching on. I’m simply trying to flesh out a reason as to why we should not be angry when it is so clear that Jesus was.

The answer in its simplest form comes down to one word. The one word is: righteousness. Jesus is Holy, and He is righteous in His anger. In one of my previous posts, “The Gravity of Sin”, I talked about why it is important to regard what we consider as “small sins” as grave or just as bad as the “large sins”. This post is in a sense an application of that post. When Jesus spoke in Matthew 5:21-22, he basically says, “The people long ago have said ‘Do not murder’, anyone who murders will be subject to judgment. But I tell you this. Anyone who is angry at a brother or sister will be subject to judgment.” If you give way and are angry at a brother or sister, Satan is smart and cunning enough to grab hold of that “foothold” of anger that you have provided him. As a result, if you are angry at your brother or sister, then it may not be too long until you’re considering physical harm or murder.

In the past, I have definitely observed considerable anger within my life. And it scares me to recall these details, but I would often fantasize about physically harming– maybe even killing the people that I was angry at. If I had allowed my anger to continue to latch onto me and drag me, I don’t know where I would be today. That is why it is wrong for us to be angry. We can not be 100% sure that our anger is righteous. And even if it is, the anger whether or not it is righteous or not, can lead to very unrighteous and ungodly thoughts.

The reason that it is okay for Jesus to be angry is simple. Because Jesus IS Holy. He IS righteous. He can be 100% sure that He is righteous in His anger, and because He is Holy, He will not give any power to Satan through His anger. Essentially, Jesus’ anger and our anger are fundamentally different. Where our anger is self-centered and a desire for self-glorification/ revenge, Jesus’ anger was for the glorification of God. The “marketers” at the temple were essentially cheating people and cheating God. Jesus wanted to fix things so that they would properly glorify God through their offerings, for God’s sake, as well as the sake of the people that He was rebuking.

Those are my thoughts! Feel free to comment below, I may be wrong. These are just some thoughts that I have been thinking about.

Hope you all have a nice week!

3 thoughts on “Thoughts about Jesus’ Anger.

  1. [quote]The “marketers” at the temple were essentially cheating people and cheating God. Jesus wanted to fix things so that they would properly glorify God through their offerings, for God’s sake, as well as the sake of the people that He was rebuking.[/quote]

    This is only part of the answer as it still doesn’t give enough of a context as to why Jesus messed up the Temple.

    The marketers weren’t simply “cheating” people, they were downright abusing them because people would bring their own animals for offering but the marketers in collusion with the temple authorities were telling people that their animals were no good. So the people then were forced to buy another animal that was sold at an exorbitant price. So this “cheating” was actually abuse of the people who in many cases, were already poor as they were!

    Jesus’ anger at these people was both a response of righteousness and JUSTICE. The wrong HAD to be righted; holiness always responds to injustice.

    1. Hey Thich!

      I didn’t quite know the whole story regarding the rejection of animals, but I do recall hearing that the temple goers were forced to purchase the animals that were sold by the marketers and that the prices were very high.

      I completely agree though (and would’ve agreed before as well!) that Jesus’ act was an act of righteousness and justice. I also agree that holiness always responds to injustice. But what I was trying to address I suppose was the, I suppose, method that Jesus used to correct the injustice.

      I was writing about Jesus’ anger and the (in grittier terms) “vengeance” that He took. I agree that holiness always responds to injustice and that we are supposed to respond to injustice, but are we supposed to respond to injustice with anger? In my post, I was trying to articulate that we should not because our anger/ motives may not always be righteous, holy, and just. I was also trying to articulate that it is alright that Jesus responds with anger because His motives will ALWAYS be righteous, holy, and just.

      I just feel that some people might become confused. Jesus said that we are not to be angry, because that will lead to us being judged, yet He himself is being angry in this scenario. Why is that okay? I may not have done it clearly (I’m never sure that I’ve explained anything clearly), but I was trying to say that Jesus wanted us to avoid being angry because our anger may be unrighteous and thus lead to sin. Where as His anger is always righteous and therefore is holy and will not lead to sin.

      I hope this response makes my perspective clearer!

  2. I think you should consider the context in which Jesus told the people not to be angry – it was in regards to human relationships, particularly the idea that, “don’t be angry at one another and don’t let the sun go down before you deal with your problems…” because it leads to broken relationships.

    I think the passages regarding Jesus’ expulsion of the merchants from the Temple is vastly different. It is in regards to justice and the alleviation of suffering and creating freedom for the other. Does justice sometimes necessitate anger? I believe so… for what other reason then would any human respond to the plight of someone who suffers? It is usually compassion and righteous anger (yes… humans can feel this too) that leads us to respond to suffering. =)

Leave a Reply

