How He Loves; You Won’t Relent

Hello friends, as the title of this post might imply, I will be referencing lyrics from the song “How He Loves” by John Mark McMillan (I think?) as well as lyrics from “You Won’t Relent” by Misty Edwards (also unsure). I’ve been thinking quite a bit for a while I suppose about the lyrics of “How He Loves”. The opening line for the first verse in that song is,

He is jealous for me (How He Loves)

And I’ve kind of always wondered about that. To me, jealousy was always this yucky icky feeling that was known to be bad. A feeling that was kind of deemed to be a door for evil to attack with. “I’m jealous of my friends, they all have toys that I do not.” Easily this creates a window of opportunity for evil to attack. Anger or hatred can be developed, either to the friends mentioned, or to one’s caregivers or providers. So to me, jealousy I suppose was always an opportunity for evil to attack, and yet in “How He Loves”, God is described to be jealous for us.

I started thinking a little deeper and came to the conclusion that God is able to be jealous because jealousy in and of itself is not evil. It is the feelings of anger and spite that jealousy can cause that are evil, but God is good, so He won’t experience such things. That however, is not the point.

Thinking a little more deeply, I thought about the lyrics some more. The lyrics say that “God is jealous for me.” Not “God is jealous of me.” I am jealous of my friend, but I am jealous for the toy that my friend owns. This means that God is jealous that something/someone else “owns” me, and that He wants me for himself. I suppose that was heart breaking and eye-opening. When I sin, I chase something other than God, basically, death. And as a result, death “owns” me when I sin. However, God loves me so much that He sent His only Son to rescue me. To steal me away from the clutches of death. God loves me (and you!) so much that He is jealous and is willing to take action to bring us back to Him.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

He loves us so much that He sent His one and only son to redeem us from death. I can’t help but be amazed at how awesome that is! I mean, the God of the universe is jealous for me! I mean I can’t help but respond to that and try to share it with others!

Where “You Won’t Relent” comes in is equally, if not maybe more beautiful to me. God extended His hand, His perfect hand to us to rescue us from the depths of death. But that hand is not a “one time thing”.

You won’t relent
Until You, have it all. (You Won’t Relent)

Is one of the lines in the verse. God doesn’t want half of us, He wants all of us. Though I still sin from time to time now, God is working in me to sanctify me so that one day, I can become what He originally intended for me to be. (This doesn’t mean that I don’t have to try! I still have to do my best as well.) He won’t relent, He won’t give up. Even though sometimes I think I’m a lost cause, He still picks me up and puts be back together. There’s probably a little scolding involved in the process as well.

Just wanted to share my thoughts, hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

