Darkness and Light.

Today I was just thinking about darkness and light. There’s a pretty common saying that darkness exists where light is absent. I was just thinking about that more, and expanding on that. I brought it together with another saying. To not do good is the same as to do evil. That made a lot of sense to me. Furthermore, the bible tells us that we (Christians) are to be light unto the world. I came to wonder if I was being a light to the world, was I doing good, or was I abstaining from good acts and as a result doing evil?

In any case, my train of thought continued on, and I began comparing the saying about darkness and light to sin. “Darkness exists where light is absent.” Then wouldn’t sin exist where I refuse to allow God to work in me? Sin in my life exists where I have not allowed Jesus access. Sin exists in the places I refuse to allow God to intervene. However, remember that victory against sin is not a one time thing. I must always consciously make an effort to allow God’s light to shine inside of me, or due to the lack of light, allow darkness (temptation) to overtake me. If I do not constantly seek God, I will be overtaken by the darkness.

Just wanted to share my thoughts, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Darkness and Light.

  1. I dun think we can confidently say that “sin exists where the God’s Spirit is absent” — that sort of actually contradicts our confession that God is omnipresent (everywhere).

    I would say sin exists because we do not choose to listen to God’s Spirit because I believe God’s Spirit is with everyone and working in everyone’s life, whether they are responding to Him or not.

  2. Hmm… That’s true, God is omnipresent. I’ll probably edit it, I did later say that “Sin in my life exists where I have not allowed Jesus access. Sin exists in the places I refuse to allow God to intervene.” So yeah. Nice spot Thich! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

