Psalm 119 – Waw

This is my fifth post in my journey through Psalm 119. I kinda skipped out yesterday, sorry @_@. I didn’t realize that we were going to “spring forward” and all of a sudden what I thought was 9:30 became 10:30… So yeah… Sorry!

What is the psalmist saying about God’s word
What am I learning about God’s word right now?

Just like in the other sections, the psalmist is reinforcing the importance of the word of God. I’ll only be mentioning the things that really stood out to me as I did when analyzing the previous sections.

“May Your unfailing love come to me, O Lord, Your salvation according to Your promise; then I will answer the one who taunts me, for I trust in Your word.” This verse basically says that God’s word gives us strength to fight against the evil one. To know God’s promise, we need to need to read and know the word of God. By reading and knowing God’s word, we are empowered by God. Then, with that power, we can fight the evil one. “I will answer the one who taunts me, for I trust in Your word.”

“I will always obey Your law for ever and ever. I will walk about i freedom, for I have sought out Your precepts.” Here the psalmist is saying that he will walk in freedom because he sought out God’s precepts. Walking in freedom would mean being pure and without sin. The psalmist is saying that by seeking and following God’s law, we will be able to resist temptation and stay out of sin. This reminds me of what Ducky was saying earlier today. “If you look at me, then the surrounding background will be blurry. If you look at the background, I will be blurry.” He related that to God and temptation. If we look at God, and keep ourselves focused on God, the temptation will be blurred out. However, if we look at the temptation, God will be blurred out.

So yeah, that’s what I noticed about today’s section. I’m really tired, so if anything sounds weird, I’m sorry… Also, sorry again about missing out yesterday. Regardless, I’ll have the next post up tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

