Psalm 119 – Daleth

This is my fourth post for my journey through Psalm 119. The first post can be found here.

The two questions that I will be reflecting on throughout this journey are:

What is the psalmist saying about God’s word?
What am I learning about God’s word right now?

Daleth seemed a bit shorter than the previous sections, possibly even shorter than Beth! Regardless of the length, Daleth has a lot of material, and a lot for me to see. The message at its core is the same as the psalmist who wrote Daleth also very much focuses and emphasizes the importance of the word of God. “I recounted my ways and You answered me; teach me Your decrees. Let me understand the teaching of Your precepts”. Just like before, the psalmist puts a strong emphasis on knowing God’s commands. To learn these commands, we must read the Word. However, there’s more. “then I will meditate on Your wonders.” The psalmist is saying that we should not only read the word of God to learn about His commands, but also to learn more about Him. The bible holds information about all of the miracles that God has performed. This is all the more reason to read and learn the word of God. When we read and find out about all that he has done for us, how can we help BUT worship and praise him? The psalmist says that reading the word of God is vital because it will help us learn more about our God, and to appreciate the things that He has done for us in the past, and what He will do in the future!

The psalmist also says that the word will give us strength and empower us. “My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to Your word.” The word is essentially spiritual food so that we may grow stronger in the Lord. The word of God is just as important as the food we eat. The food we eat helps our brains to function and sustain our bodies. Just like food, the bible gives our hearts the mindset of God, and help us grow spiritually. If we do not read the Word, we will essentially starve ourselves. We will likely feel dry, and in the worst cases, walk away from God. Therefore, consistently reading the bible is amazingly important, it is vital for our survival and is our only weapon against the evil one and his temptations.

The psalmist that wrote Daleth also emphasizes what the other sections have, the word of God is our weapon against the evil one. “I have set my heart on Your laws. I hold fast to Your statutes, O Lord; do not let me be put to shame.” God’s laws should be placed in our heart so that any time the evil one tempts us we may retaliate with God’s word. Also, at the end of those verses, the psalmist writes “I run in the path of Your commands for You have set my heart free.” I strongly agree with this verse. I believe that the psalmist is saying that we are only free, and only able to follow God’s commands because we were set free from the chains of sin, by His power and His alone. For this, I truly thank Him.

See you guys again tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

