Psalm 119 – Gimel

This is the third post for my journey through Psalm 119. The first post can be found here.

Just to have them here to help focus my thoughts and remind you guys just in case, the two questions that I will be using to reflect and analyze the section in Psalm 119 are:

What is the psalmist saying about God’s word?
What am I learning about God’s word right now?

Gimel was slightly different than Aleph and Beth, but one similarity stands strong between them all. I’m not sure if all of the sections are written by the same psalmist, but I don’t think that they are. Regardless, all of the psalmist so far seem to be emphasizing one thing, the importance of the word of God. Gimel however introduces some new thoughts to Psalm 119.

“I am a stranger on earth;” and “Though rulers sit together and slander me, your servant will meditate on your decrees.” I believe these verses go well with what Jesus said. He said that we are to be “the salt of the earth”. With the other verse, I believe that the psalmist is warning us that it will be hard. The psalmist says that they have been slandered (humiliated, or made fun of) and that we will likely go through the same. The psalmist is saying that we will be outcasts to society. What the psalmist is saying however, does not end there. “Your statutes are my delight;” I believe the psalmist is trying to reassure us, that though we may be ridiculed for our beliefs, we will not be alone. Our God will be with us.

“Do good to Your servant, and I will life; I will obey Your word.” Upon first reading this verse, I thought that the psalmist was requesting God do something for him. Then in return, he would obey God’s laws. I know that when I make such promises to God, I fail to keep my promise and that’s a bad thing. I have learned, through experience that that route is not quite the best one to take. After reading the verse again though, my view of the verse changed. I believe that God loves us and will bless us. He knows what’s good for us and when we need it. I believe that He will bless us regardless whether we know it or not. I think that the psalmist is trying to say that obedience to the Lord is a natural response to the blessings that He pours out on us. I’m not sure about this one, but that’s what I interpreted.

The psalmist of course emphasizes the importance of the word of God. “You rebuke the arrogant who are cursed and who stray from Your commands.” Of course, we must diligently study the word so that we learn and can know His commands. That way we won’t stray from them. They will always be there to help us fight the temptation when it arises. The psalmist is saying the same thing with this verse. “Your statues are my delight; they are my counselors.” The word was inspired by God the Spirit and written to help guide us through our walk. I believe that the psalmist is saying that knowing the word of God is essential.

See you guys again tomorrow!

And so the journey of life continues.

One thought on “Psalm 119 – Gimel

  1. [quote]I think that the psalmist is trying to say that obedience to the Lord is a natural response to the blessings that He pours out on us. I’m not sure about this one, but that’s what I interpreted.[/quote]

    That’s a bang-on assessment. We ask that God sustains us and blesses us IN ORDER for us to REMAIN faithful and obedient to His word.

Leave a Reply

