Psalm 119 – Beth

This is continuing my journey through Psalm 119. The first post can be found here.

These are the two questions that I will be reflecting on to analyze the section in Psalm 119.

What is the psalmist saying about God’s word?
What am I learning about God’s word right now?

As I read through Beth, I felt that there were a lot of similarities between it and Aleph. The message seems to be quite similar. “How can a young man keep his way pure? By living in accordance to Your word.” That verse, the first verse in the “Beth” section of Psalm 119 is almost an exact summary of what I interpreted from Aleph. To keep pure, I need to fight the temptation to sin, and to fight the temptations I need to live in accordance with God’s word! As the word of God is inspired by God the Holy Spirit, I believe that this is not a coincidence.

“I have hidden Your word in my heart that I might not sin against You” This also relates to my interpretation of yesterday’s section. I believe that the psalmist is saying that to counter the temptation that the evil one sends our way, we need to have God’s word tucked away in our heart to use at any time. This exactly like what I was saying about Jesus’ trial in the desert and my own experience with littering. The psalmist also says “I meditate on your precepts and consider Your ways. I will not neglect Your word.” In saying this, I believe that the psalmist is telling us to be diligent in our studies of the word. We should not look at it in a surface level way, but rather reflect and look in-depth. That way, we truly can truly come to understand our God.

This post seems a lot shorter than the first, but I think that’s because the two sections feel so similar. To me, it’s almost like they’re saying the exact same thing– just differently. Beth seems to reinforce what Aleph said, reinforcing the importance of reading, and knowing the word of God.

See you guys again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

