Psalm 119 – Aleph

After talking to Thich for a while last night, Thich recommended that I read Psalm 119, and asked that I consider two questions as I go through the sections.

What is the psalmist saying about God’s word
What am I learning about God’s word right now?

He asked that I read through one of the “sections” a day, so yeah. I’m going to do my best to keep up with this ^^;

Aleph felt quite short but as I reflect on it and examine the section verse by verse, I seem to realize more and more. The psalmist is saying that those who follow God’s laws are blessed. The psalmist says “Blessed are those who keep his statutes and seek him with all their heart.” I believe that the psalmist is saying that we should seek after God’s word every day. And not just seek after His word in a short-sighted surface level way, but with all of our heart. We should dig deeper and deeper so that we can learn more.

“Oh that my ways were steadfast in obeying Your decrees! Then I would not be put to shame when I consider all Your commands.” The psalmist is wishing that he would have a steady heart in the face of trial and temptation, something I long for as well. I sin and I fall, and when I think of God’s commands, I sometimes feel guilty and ashamed. I don’t think the psalmist is writing these words in a discouraging way, but rather I think that he is saying that the bible is our weapon against temptation. The psalmist is writing this to say that if we know the word inside out, we will easily be able to fight and conquer our temptations. Just as Jesus did in the desert during his very long fasting period. When the evil one came to tempt Him, Jesus replied with bible verses and fought the temptation. I have a similar experience actually.

I was walking down the sidewalk and I had some garbage in my hand. I dropped it without much thought and littered. Just as I did however, a verse came to mind reminding me that God told us to be good stewards of the earth. I fought it for a bit thinking that it was a drag, but eventually picked up the piece of trash to dispose of properly. I don’t have those experiences much, but I feel that if I continue to seek God through His word, I will be able to experience that more often. When I feel tempted, a verse will reassure me and comfort me, thus giving me the strength to resist the temptation.

The psalmist then is encouraging us to read God’s word and instructions diligently. To study them and put them in our hearts. That way, when the time comes, we will be able to fight the temptation. I kind of feel that I answered both of the guiding questions by attempting to answer one. Well, I did say what I learned so… yeah. =)

Leave a Reply

